News Release

No Municipal Election to be Held in Temple City

Three incumbents running unopposed renders election unnecessary. 

TEMPLE CITY, CA (Dec. 10, 2019) — As three city council members are running for re-election with no challengers, the city of Temple City will not be holding its bi-annual municipal election that would have taken place Tuesday, March 3, 2020, city officials announced.

The three available seats belong to city council members Cynthia Sternquist, Nanette Fish and William Man. Sternquist was first elected to the city council in 2011, and Fish and Man in 2015. All three will serve another four-year term expiring in 2024.

Challengers for the three available seats had until Friday, Dec. 6 to state their intentions to run for public office. However, since Sternquist, Fish and Man were the only ones to file, the election will not be held in accordance with California Elections Code 10229.

According to city clerk Peggy Kuo, the other time the city did not hold a municipal election was in 2017, when incumbents Vincent Yu and Tom Chavez ran unopposed.

Not holding the March 3, 2020 election is expected to save the city upwards of $90,000.

The city council is scheduled to meet Dec. 17 to appoint Sternquist, Fish and Man to their four-year terms effective March 3, 2020.

The next municipal election will be held March 2, 2022 with two city council seats becoming available.

—To view other City news releases, visit